List 4 states west of the mississippi river?

West of the mississippi river that were free slave states

6 Answers

  • Is this a school question? If you are asking about free or slave states west of the Mississippi River at the time of the American Civil War, they are: free states-Iowa, Minnesota, Kansas, Oregon, and California; slave states- Texas, Louisiana, Arkansas, and Missouri. What is now Oklahoma was then Indian Territory and it allowed slavery.

  • Alabama Alaska Arizona Arkansas California Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Idaho Illinois Indiana Iowa Kansas Kentucky Louisiana Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan Minnesota Mississippi Missouri Montana Nebraska Nevada New Hampshire New Jersey New Mexico big apple North Carolina North Dakota Ohio Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island South Carolina South Dakota Tennessee Texas Utah Vermont Virginia Washington West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming Territories American Samoa Guam Northern Mariana Islands Puerto Rico U.S. Virgin Islands not proven District of Columbia

  • There are no free slave states. States that had no slavery west of the Mississippi were:





  • Free slave states? Define please?

    Texas = Slave State

    Oklahoma = Indian Territory at the time

    Arkansas = Slave State

    Minnesota = Free

    South Dakota = Free

    North Dakota = Free

    Nebraska = Slave

  • There were free states and slave states in the United States. Which type are you referring to and what time span?

  • I don't have the time just now to hop on a plane and fly to someplace west of the Mississippi river, so could I list them from here? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts