What’s the difference between vegan and vegetarian?

Other then dairy. I know gummy bears have gelatin in them. Is that something vegetarians shouldn't eat?

23 Answers

  • Hi! Your question is very common.

    The difference between a vegan and a vegetarian is that a vegan eliminates all animal products from their diet, including dairy. Those following a vegan lifestyle do not wear leather and avoid products made from animals such as wool, silk and down. Vegans tremendous humanity for animals is an abiding, overriding conviction in their lives.

    Vegetarians do not eat meat, fish or poultry, but might eat dairy products such as cheese, eggs, yogurt or milk. Vegetarians are not as predictable in their beliefs, as there are many reasons to become vegetarian that don’t necessarily include altruism as a primary motive. For example, many vegetarians have eliminated meat for the sake of their health. In fact, there are a great many people lumped into the category of vegetarian. Lacto-vegetarians will eat dairy, but not eggs. Ovo-vegetarians will eat eggs, but not dairy. Lacto-ovo vegetarians will eat eggs and dairy products. The reasons for these choices are varied and based on individual beliefs. In some cases they are based on moral choices, and in others on dietary needs or simple preference.

    A vegan, on the other hand, is self-committed to upholding a personal standard of living where animals are concerned. Generally, the vegan point of view is that animals are not here to be exploited by man, and that commercialization of animals necessarily involves a fundamental, inhumane component and lack of respect for basic life. Unfortunately, cruel methods are often cheaper methods, and animals raised for meat or dairy products by commercial interests are commonly and routinely kept in abusive conditions and slaughtered inhumanely in the interest of a competitive marketplace.

    Sad, but true!

    Hope i helped =)

    Add: For the person that mentioned mu name: I didn't mean to "offend" vegetarians. I commend if a person that usually eats meat skips a meat meal!

    I reckon there's a difference between vegetarians and vegans. But nothing related with inferior or superior!!!

  • Difference Between Vegetarian And Vegan

  • There is a very large difference between ovo-lacto vegetarian and vegan.

    Vegetarians usually just follow the diet, but some will also not use leather or fur.

    Vegetarians avoid any product that is a result of slaughter like meat, gelatin, glycerine, lard, tallow, etc.

    Vegans go a step further and do not use any animal products at all. This means that they don't eat any food from an animal including meat, dairy, eggs, honey and other by-products or ingredients. Also, vegans do not wear clothing that is from animals like fur, leather, wool, silk. Down or feather coats, blankets, and pillows are not used either. Vegans also buy no products that were tested on animals or bath/body products that contain animal ingredients. Basically, vegans try to limit their contribution to any form of animal or insect exploitation.

    If the gummy bears you have contain gelatin, it's not considered a vegetarian food. But there are some gummy candies out there that are vegetarian and vegan, like swedish fish and others.

  • The difference between the two depends on the true conviction of that person. One self proclaimed Vegan eats red meat every night because it's too hard to go all day. Some vegans and vegetarians will eat cнιcκen and dairy - they don't seem to want to save or protest against the slaughter of animals who don't have cute faces or long eye lashes.

    I find few true vegetarians and vegans who actually follow what they love to shove down our throats every chance they get. It's too hard.

  • There are different kinds of vegetarian diets. Here is what they do and do not eat.

    Vegans don't eat red meat, fish, poultry OR dairy, eggs, honey or any other animal by product. Veganism usually extends beyond just avoiding consuming animal products. It is a philosophical and or ethical point of view which, aims to minimize animal suffering by eliminating the use of all animal products such as leather, fur, wool and silk and avoiding products tested on animals.

    Lacto vegetarianism

    NO red meat, fish, poultry OR eggs

    Eats dairy

    Lacto-ovo vegetarianism

    NO red meat, fish or poultry

    Eats dairy and eggs

    Ovo vegetarianism

    NO red meat, fish, poultry OR dairy

    Eats eggs

    Pescetarians, Pollotarians and Flexitarians are NOT vegetarians, they are are omnivores.


    Other things to avoid:

    Rennet - from cow's stomachs

    Casein - comes from milk

    Collagen - connective tissue from meat

    Fatty acids - can sometimes be animal-derived

    Gelatin - made from bones

    Glycerine - can sometimes be animal-derived

    Lecithin - usually soya, but can come from eggs

    Marine oils - from fish

    Whey - from milk

    Any kind of lactate or Lactic acid - from milk

    Cochineal - colour made from crushed insects

    Honey - bees

    These are mostly found in processed foods. Read the labels carefully to check it doesn't contain any of these ingredients.

  • Vegans don't eat anything that comes from an animal, while vegetarians don't eat meat but still eat/drink dairy products.

  • Im close to a vegetarian but not quite since i eat fish. People who eat fish like me are called peskitarians. Pesketarians dont eat any meat but they do eat fish. Vegetarians eat no meat not even fish.

    Vegans dont eat anything that an animal produces (meat, milk, cheese, eggs, etc)

    Vegetarians dont normally like to eat gummy beats because they are made from animal fat, but i dont really mond gelatin because i dont eat meat because i dont like the taste. I've noticed that not many people have heard of this because most people go vegetarian from the dislike of animal killing (which in my opinion is stupid, but also and argument for another question)

  • For the best answers, search on this site https://shorturl.im/zoCrL

    All vegetarians have one thing in common: They don't eat animal flesh, and that includes fish. Here is a list of a few types of vegetarians: Lacto-vegetarian: can consume dairy Ovo-vegetarian: can consume eggs Lacto-Ovo vegetarian: can consume dairy and eggs. Vegan: cannot consume any animal byproduct like eggs, dairy, milk, sugar processed using bone-char, gelatin, honey, etc. Fruitarian: type of vegan that only consumes nuts, seeds and fruit so as not to harm the plants they came from. The really нᴀʀᴅcoʀᴇ fruitarians only eat nuts, seeds and fruit they find on the ground. Raw-Foodist- type of vegan that does not consume food heated above 110 F. Macrobiotic vegetarian: is a type of vegan diet of mostly whole grains and beans. Breatharian: type of vegan that consumes ONLY water. They claim they get their nutrients from the rising sun. The thing about the "Fish Eaters" is this: Pescatarians, as they like to call themselves, eat a mostly vegetarian diet with the exception of consuming seafood as well. This type of diet has been coined a "semi-vegetarian" diet. However, this term is an oxymoron. Pescatarianism is in no way, shape or form a vegetarian diet. This is because the very definition of vegetarianism states that it is a diet that eliminates animal flesh. So, therefore, the "fish-eaters" are not vegetarian. Some of these "Fish-Eaters" claim that fish are not animals (what a joke). The "Fish-Eaters" who claim they are vegetarian probably grew up listening to Nirvana- "Its OK to eat fish, because they don't have any feelings". I say "Bullshiat"!. (I'm calling all you fish-eaters out on your stupidity). Tofu tastes pretty bland. But, the beautiful thing about tofu is that it will take on any flavor you add to it. It is like a blank slate. If you are creative, you can make it taste great! Here are some protein rich foods: Complete proteins: quinoa, amaranth, edamame, hemp seed, spirulina, mushrooms, bulgar wheat, milk, cheese, eggs, etc. Other good sources of protein: beans, rice, cereals, pasta, corn, broccoli, bread, tortillas, nuts, seeds, etc. A good way to start a vegetarian diet is, first off, decide what type of vegetarian you want to be. Buy some vegetarian cookbooks and start cooking at home. Find a vegetarian food pyramid and plan a healthy balanced diet. Nutritionists say that the healthiest diet you can eat is a low-fat, whole-foods vegetarian diet. Find out what the difference between whole-foods and processed foods are. Look on-line. There are a lot of great vegetarian websites with a lot of good info! Good Luck!

  • Peskatarians- Do not eat meat but they do eat fish/seafood.

    Vegetarians- Do not eat meat at all Including Seafood/fish.

    Vegan- Do not eat meat, seafood, dairy, & eggs. Vegans also don't wear animal skin/fur, they try not to use products tested on animals aswell.

    If food has these foods in them don't eat it if you are a non- meat eater-

    Red #40: found in chips, dyes, sprinkles candy or anything red.

    Gelatin- found in jello, fruit snacks, yogurt, go-gurt, gummy bears, & gummy worms.

    Lard- Found in refried beans

    Some dressing (especially cesar)

    ᑕнιcκen/beef broth-(kind of speaks for itself)

    Altiods- Contain Gelatin


    Candy Corn- Gelatin

    Baked Beans- Usually contain pork but they do make vegetarian kinds that taste the same.

    Frosted Mini Wheats- Gelatin

    Orange Juice-

    Cake Mix-

  • Gelatin is a slaughter byproduct (dead animal, in other words) and even vegetarians don't eat it.

    Vegetarians don't eat dead animals. Vegans don't eat , use, wear, purchase or otherwise consume anything of animal origin whatsoever, regardless of whether the animal died for it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts